Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How to identify 911 front strut type?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
billh1963
I've read a couple articles (pelican) and I don't see anything that helps identify at a glance what approximate year and type of strut you have...especially if the strut isn't original color.

I've got two sets of struts...neither are green or red. Assuming these are pre-SC, any idea on whether 911T, S, or E and strut insert type required?

I'm keeping one of the sets will sell the other. Just don't know what I have to help decide which one to keep!

Strut 1

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Strut 2

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment
Literati914
Hi Bill, I'm no expert on the 911 running gear but I can see that the first set (painted black) has a vertical split down at the very bottom - which correlates with the "pinch bolt" set up of the early struts. The Grey set does not have that vertical split from what I can see, and is therefore a later set that utilizes a "wedge bolt" instead. The grey pair would be the ones you'd want to keep and use out of those two, as the wedge bolt was considered an improvement. The 911T certainly used a split/pinch set up.

What about the measurement for the holes (that the calipers mount to)... early was 3" and later was 3.5" - not sure the year that that change took place though.

914Sixer
Pull the tops off each strut, there will be a part number in the middle of the tube.
billh1963
QUOTE(Literati914 @ Jan 3 2022, 01:49 PM) *