Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What's my 72 1.7L worth?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
EricL
Hey all, newbie here.

My father-in-law passed away a decade ago. His 1972 1.7L 914 has pretty much sat in my mother-in-law's garage since that time. She's now moving into a managed care facility so it's probably time for it to get sold to someone who will love it.

I have absolutely no idea what to ask for it.

Single owner, never in any accidents, always garaged, original interior and paint in good shape. I believe the engine was rebuilt circa 2000. Also I think the door seals and such were done. There's probably paperwork I can find on these. ~140k miles. Ran fine a few years ago but has sat for a number of years.

What's the best way to zero in on a fair asking price? Any advice appreciated.

Thanks.

Click to view attachment
brant
maybe get one of the guys local to you... to come over for an hour
these cars vary in price greatly depending on rust
you would (hopefully) get a set of experienced eyes to look at the problem areas and give you a condition assessment....
siverson
Post a bunch of pictures here and we can help. Especially areas where there may be rust (under the battery, front and rear trunks, under the doors, etc).

And... when you are ready to sell I'm interested! Looks like a nice car!

-Steve
EricL
Thanks folks. Much appreciated.

The car lives (and has always lived) in the Seattle area (Bellevue specifically). I don't believe there is much rust but will look and post more photos and the VIN and such once I get back over to my in-law's.

Here's an interior shot.

Click to view attachment
brant
the rusty areas are good at hiding...
pull the rocker covers and take a picture
(a knowledgeable 914 owner, won't buy a car without seeing the rockers)
EricL
QUOTE(brant @ Jan 18 2022, 01:54 PM) *

the rusty areas are good at hiding...
pull the rocker covers and take a picture