Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Which 914 is in better condition for the price?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Voxbo
Hi, I came across this forum while researching into 914's. I'm a middle aged enthusiast after his first Porsche. The 914's seem to be the affordable and maintenance seems to be doable at home. I'm an OK mechanic but have a buddy who owns a shop and can help me in a pinch.

There are 2 914's I have my eyes on and was looking for some advice from you all.

The first is a 1972 with a flat four which belongs to a distant acquaintance, he's asking for around $12000 for this car. I have not seen it in person but am going there over the weekend. I could not see an option to upload multiple pictures so added it to Imgur - https://imgur.com/a/KFZaem4

The car seems to have been in the family for the past 20 yrs.
1) There's no surface rust, car starts and runs well.
2) I noticed a respray when I looked at a picture of the door sill
3) Upholstery needs work as there's significant fading of the seats and tears in the upholstery
4) The paint has faded may need to be buffed.
5) New battery, no rust below battery.
6) Has not been run in awhile so would need to be serviced
7) No original book and manuals (has a clean title)

The other car is on eBay - https://www.ebay.com/itm/154813657145?hash=...ksAAOSwilxh8eZe

I personally prefer Phoenix Red smile.gif.

Is this a fair price in this day and age?

Thank you!