Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pseudo 914 build thread
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Zaffer
So I will attempt to document my build thread here, but I’m terrible with keeping up with things and life gets in the way.

It’s a ‘75 that I originally bought in 1998 as I’ve always had a love of 914’s. I drove it for 2 years and in that time, had it painted Ford Corona Yellow and had the front markers removed. Work was so-so, but I was 18 and didn’t know better. Engine developed a rod knock and the car sat for another 2 years as I was a poor college student.

Finally got another engine which caught fire 5 minutes after getting it inspected. Insurance took the car as I needed the money more at the time. About 5 years later (2009) I bought it back as the guy who bought it from the insurance company contacted me about parts for the car, but I had sold them when my wife and I moved to St. Kitts for her Vet school.

This is how the car sits now, which is how it was when I bought it:Click to view attachment

My plan is to strip the body to a shell and repair any and all rust I find. Upon initial inspection, the worst seems to be the LF fender well and the right rocker/longitudinal. Any advice along the way would be appreciated, but it will be a slow process as I get little time to work on it with having 2 young kids and a 20 acre farm to repair.
Zaffer
Passenger longitudinal: Click to view attachment
Zaffer
LF corner:Click to view attachment
Zaffer
Passenger rocker:Click to view attachment
Zaffer
Passenger sail panel:Click to view attachment
Zaffer
I haven’t had a chance to dig into the extent of the rust in these areas, but I’m sure it’s worse than it looks. There are other rust areas, but they appear to be surface related. I still have more to strip off of the car to get it to bare shell status, so plenty of time for more surprises!
Mikey914