Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: CV Joint Questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Chaznaster
Hi All. I just tore down my axles to repack my CVs and replace damaged boots. I guess it's not surprising that they had a mix of gasket/ no gasket and Schnoor/ no Schnoor washers. That is a theme with this car!

I found few interesting things that I would like to understand better before I go looking for replacements. I am mostly interested in making sure that the ones I would like to keep (Left Inner and Left Outer) are the right parts, especially the yellow zinc one. And confirmation that the Right Inner and Right Outer are fit for retirement. I have limited experience with 914 or worn CVs ... and really appreciate your help.

Left Inner: This one has a bit of dimpling in the races but not terrible. It has the standard inner carrier (is that what they are called?) with the shoulder on one side. The outer surface has 7 153 100 199 004 LOBRO 41/84 stamped on it. I will likely reuse this one.
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment

Left Outer: This one is in fine shape but it is an entirely different color (looks yellow zinc plated). There is NO shoulder on the inner carrier on either side. The outer surface has the VW symbol above the number 2. It looks the same in all other respects. Are there any concerns that this might be made for a different car axle?
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment

Right Inner: the outer surface has LOBRO (in a circle) and 40-76. This one is pretty bad.
Click to view attachment

Right Outer: the outer surface has only 44-74 stamped on it. I am pretty sure it is shot as well.
Click to view attachment

914Mels