Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Heat Exchangers for a 914-6 GT with a 3.0L
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tom1394racing
Anyone have any suggestions for heat exchangers that will work well with a 3.0L. Or...Can anyone suggest an alternative to get some heat in the cabin while using headers?
horizontally-opposed
The best if you can still get them…

https://914-6werkshop.com/shop/products/
VegasRacer
Some people are happy with the seat heater kits from 914 Rubber and CAMP 914,

I have no personal experience with either. Just letting you know of another option.
My 3.0 6/GT has headers. I keep a coat, hat and gloves in the trunk at all times. YMMV
Cairo94507
The stock 914-6 heat exchangers are fine for a 3.0. But if you really want to get something nice, contact Ben (MB911) for a set of his SS heat exchangers. They are a work of art and you will not find better made HE's anywhere. I have his complete exhaust on my 6 and just love it.
mb911
Mine are NLA. The volume and cost of materials killed them off. I am completely out of the exhaust game with the state of things. Maybe again some day
Mark Henry
Another method would be to figure out how to mount a small china diesel heater in the spare tire well. Run the heat tube under the tank and tie into the defroster hoses. The factory gas heaters went over the tank with a wide thin plastic duct, not sure where it tied in, likely a T into the air/fan box.

Yes you would have use a small tank for diesel, but they run good on diesel.
Don't use the gas heater (china), guys haven't had much luck making them run right.
Steve
I ran factory heat exchangers on my 3.2 and it ran fine. But there was a noticeable power / acceleration difference when i upgraded to Ben's 1 5/8" heat exchangers. I would recommend MSDS 1 5/8" headers with seat heaters, otherwise the dansk 914-6 heat exchangers will work. B&B also makes 1 5/8" heat exchangers, but the fitment and heat is very poor.
horizontally-opposed