Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT Porsche should have used Aluminum
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
Unobtanium-inc
It's timeless. On the left of the weld is original 550 Spyder aluminum from 54-55, on the right is brand new aluminum, hard to tell a difference!
mb911
Oxy welded aluminum ?
Unobtanium-inc
QUOTE(mb911 @ Mar 27 2022, 04:06 PM) *

Oxy welded aluminum ?

This was TIG
Brett W
Oxy/hydrogen is perfect for this situation. Much easier to planish as its not hard like a TIG weld. No soot and contamination like Oxy/acetylene.

What aluminum did you use? 1100 or 3003?
carr914
that weld looks like ass
mb911
I have been teaching welding at a college level for 21 years and thought for sure it was a picture of oxy welds because of the inconsistencies of the weld. Below is a typical example of aluminum TIG and you will see the white cleaning action on the edges of the weld that is why I questioned it. I will not comment any further as I am very happy to see the body saved and the willingness to preserve the vehicles.Click to view attachment
Superhawk996
Man, hard crowd to please. As I offer my "opinion" I'll also post a couple pictures of my "proof of work" to show that I have at least a little experience that formed the basis of my opinion. I built a concept tank for a Norton Cafe out of aluminum. This tank was pressure tested. There were something like 12 or 13 panels that were used to fabricate this tank.

First off, I'm with @mb911 , great to see an old car being saved. That is the top priority. I'm only jealous that I don't get to play with 550's. I'm also jealous that I still can't lay that stack of dimes look on aluminum consistently like the previous picture.

On the subject of OxyAcetylene welding, lest we forget, much of the welding on the aluminum components and fuel & oil tanks for airplanes of WW2 was Oxyacetylene. Not as pretty as TIG but 100% functional.