Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Checklist for 914 Purchase
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Richard Casto
First, let me apologize if this is covered somewhere on the site. I am new to 914world.com and I tried to search old posts and look in the “classic” posts section for something like this.

I am looking to purchase a 914 and need to build a checklist that I can use to evaluate a car. I am not a total stranger to the car as I had two different 914s while in College (late 1980s) and worked on my own cars (most difficult job was replacement of 2nd gear syncro). I also have to say I am very excited about finding 914world.com as it looks like everyone is really knowledgeable! It was hard to find a community like this and this level of information back when I had my cars!

Anyhow, the goal is to find a car that I will use for Autocross and Track use. My #1 criterion is that the body be in reasonably good shape. While I am not adverse to fixing some rust issues if the price is right, I would rather focus on fixing or improving mechanical items vs. cutting out and welding in replacement parts. Also, as I expect to ultimately make this a track car, so finding a car with stock EFI is not that important to me. In addition to the basic car questions, I am pretty new to the concept of buying a car via something like eBay, so if anyone can offer any tips on how to go about that as well as vetting the condition of a car from a remote location, I would love the hear about it. I DON’T want to be burnt on an eBay purchase.

So, in no particular order, these are the items I may ask a seller about and/or try to inspect myself. I know a list like this could go on and on, but I am trying to hit the high points as well as think of items that are specific to the 914. Also if I am able to edit this post, I will edit the list below based upon your ideas…

Basic Body Items

Rust - Battery tray and Hell Hole.
Rust - Longitudinal
Rust - Sail panels