Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SOLD - Have Decided to sell my Marathon Blue '73 1.7 $7,250
914World.com > The 914 Forums > Classified Forums > FS/WANTED: 914 Cars and Rollers
jrmdir
Hi everyone: Please see http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=360275 for pricing.

Viewer Discretion Notice!
In case you find “what’s my car worth” posts to be annoying, be aware this is a fairly long and possibly boring note about my car’s status and my reasons for wanting to sell. But on the plus side, hopefully, at least I’m not a newbie and have been pretty active here in the past 14 months. Learned a ton of things and hopefully contributed a some good stuff as well. And perhaps knowing this car is headed for the market will be of interest to some of you or your friends.

Click to view attachment

The Background
Purchased locally a year ago. Had been stored for 3-years prior. Was not running
Other than being told it came from Cincinnati before the Seller owned it in Dayton, I have no history
Rust issue fully disclosed, inspected by me and taken into account in the purchase price.
I’m an OCD fix-it guy and wanted a post-Covid project. Also thought it could become my next (final) full on restoration project.
I really enjoyed putting tons of work into getting it running and fixing numerous small issues and some big ones e.g. Fresh Air Fan. (see full list below)
Have turned it into a very fun runabout that looks awesome (from 20 ft.)
Next in line would be rust, body and paint work – but I’ve now figured out this is as far as I'm capable of taking it at this point (and age) And besides, it now seems too nice to think about taking it off the road for such a long time. But it will need to be done at some point for sure.
I could have a lot of fun with it this summer but the time is right for me to let it go
I think it has enough appeal and rarity to do pretty well on auction sites. (even with the rust fully disclosed, of course)