Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can a gas tank be restored?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
DC_neun_vierzehn
Question for the 914 veterans ...

My mechanic told me to start looking for a solid used tank (based off of his inspection of the inside of my tank). Told me if we were going to move forward with our planned engine rebuild we should replace the tank, too.

Since it's a matching #s car ('73 2.0) he suggested finding a solid used tank (instead of an aftermarket tank like the Dansk option).

I thought I had read in other threads (and I tried to search before posting w/o any success) that others had taken their tank to a radiator shop to have it boiled and refinished on the inside (or something like that). Pardon my ignorance here friends - I'm still learning.

If I don't want to go aftermarket ... what are my option on replacing my tank?

Thanks in advance.
mepstein
There are very few places on the east coast that boil out tanks. Some of them put a big hole in the tank and then weld it shut. I would either diy or buy new.
SKL1
I believe there are franchise places like Gas Tank Renu that can save old tanks. Unless it is really bad for some reason it should be saveable.
Dave_Darling
Anything can be done, if you have a supply of cutoff wheels and a welder. All it takes is time, effort, and money.

If there are lots of pinholes (they like to collect where the tank rests on the felt pads in the compartment, among other places) it can cost rather more to repair and then treat the tank than it costs to replace. And unless even more care and work go into the repairs, many of them will be noticeable.

--DD
Superhawk996
QUOTE(Dave_Darling @ Jun 23 2022, 12:13 AM) *

Anything can be done, if you have a supply of cutoff wheels and a welder. All it takes is time, effort, and money.

--DD

Please make sure you know what you're doing before cutting & welding on gas tanks lest you have a very exciting day.
Steve