Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Question around smell
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
stickyfingers
Hi y'all.

I finally pulled the car out of storage and still runs well but my exhaust smell still sucks as I can smell it in the cabin. I am hoping to spend some time this summer (or what's left of it up north) trying to resolve these outstanding issues.

First and foremost, excuse my ignorance and the stupid question because I am a complete amateur at this. What is this part where the green wire is connected to? I always see liquid which, I assume is fuel, around this each time I fire it up and drive it. I suspect this could be a culprit for some of the issues.

I have also had smoke come into the cabin on the passenger side from time to time and it stinks. My kids nor my wife want to ride in the car. lol.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!Click to view attachment
brant
Hopefully you are smelling oil burn and not exhaust.

The heat exchangers can crack inside the heater boxes and release actual exhaust which can cause you to pass out or die

They can be taken off and pressure tested. Or put a carbon monoxide tester in temporarily

That fitting in the picture is your oil pressure sender. And it should leak oil
The motor leaks and oil leaks are most likely pooling on top of the heat exchangers and causing the smoke and burning oil smell.
emerygt350
Well, it "shouldn't"leak oil, but if it is leaking, that would be oil...

And as brant made clear, you need to let us know what the smell is. Fuel, exhaust, burning oil, burning oil and rich exhaust etc. They all have different sources. You can pretty easily disconnect the heat exchangers from the vents, that will tell you if the problem is coming from there.
bkrantz
QUOTE(brant @ Jul 14 2022, 07:33 PM) *

The heat exchangers can crack inside the heater boxes and release actual exhaust which can cause you to pass out or die