Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: smoky 1970 914-4
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tking327
Hello!

I am not a mechanic but y'all helped me along the way

My 1970 914-4 sat I would guess some 30 years without running; engine would not turn. We soaked it overnight w oil in spark plug holes then rocked it and engine broke free and turns with key. Compression was 90-120 range across 4 cylinders

After we replaced entire fuel system it finally runs, exciting. But a lot of white (ish) smoke comes out and keeps coming out while it runs. Any ideas? it sounds good

I am not very confident in the connection of various hoses as its hard to see things well in the 914.

Thanks!
Tom in Denver
Spoke
How long did you run it? Assuming you changed the oil as well. With all the crap you may have squirted in the cylinders, it might take a while to burn it off. Does it appear to run on all 4 cylinders?
Dave_Darling
Could the whitish smoke also be described as "blue"? If so, it's oil.

There should be no water in a 914 engine, so the smoke should not be water. Unless your exhaust is full of water, which should boil off after not too long.

If it smells strongly of fuel, there's a good chance it's way way way too much fuel.

--DD
emerygt350
I hope you changed the oil after the soak, and if so great, now change it again.
targa72e
Because its a flat engine and the pistons sit on their sides when stopped , its possible for the rings to get stuck offset to one side. I purchases a 911 many years ago that sat for a long time. In getting it to run it pumped a lot of oil into the exhaust and muffler (dripping). Once I got it running good I jumped on the highway at night and ran up and down at 4k RPM. I left quite a smoke screen for a while but eventually the rings freed and all the oil in the exhaust was burned off. Ran fine for many years after that.

john
Tking327
QUOTE(Spoke @ Jul 15 2022, 06:20 PM) *