Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Replacing '73 2.0 wiring harness...any tips?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
second wind
Hello Family...title says it all...hoping to get out of my nightmare with some help from my friends....experience is the best teacher and I have never done this before..any comments will be greatly appreciated....would love to hear any before and after stories....thank you very very much!!
All the best,
gg

PS....turns out I have misspoken and I am only replacing the FUEL INJECTION WIRING HARNESS in the engine compartment.....from relay board to ECU....oops! Sorry 'bout that... I would still greatly appreciate any procedure or methodology that will make it an easier task. I have very large hands so any good tricks will really help....thank you very much!!
gg
mepstein
Restoration Design has a YouTube video explaining how to install a harness. It’s worth watching.
Puebloswatcop
agree.gif Also if you are doing a removal and then an install.....mark every wire as you remove it. I just use sticky tags and write what it was removed from. That way as you install the replacement, you have a reference.
willieg
Watching the Restoration Design video was so incredibly helpful when I had a bare tub and a harness to install.
JeffBowlsby
The video is a helpful installation aid and its great that RD is making the 914/6 chassis harnesses. They make it look so easy!

I did not see the needed grommet at the rear trunk firewall to the engine bay.
dr914@autoatlanta.com
don't do it repair yours you virtually have to take the whole car apart to do it and start in the middle of the tub

QUOTE(second wind @ Aug 5 2022, 11:19 PM) *

Hello Family...title says it all...hoping to get out of my nightmare with some help from my friends....experience is the best teacher and I have never done this before..any comments will be greatly appreciated....would love to hear any before and after stories....thank you very very much!!
All the best,
gg