Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: San Diego Restoration Help
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
JJsandiego
I am new to the 914 world and looking for advice on shops to help get a 1970 914 back on the road. This was my dad's favorite car, approximately 20 years ago the clutch went out. He pulled the transmission, 1.7 engine and clutch. They were all rebuilt but due to health reason the car remained dissembled in his garage untouched. I fixed the rust in the engine compartment repainted the car and need help putting it back together.
If anyone has a trusted shop or person, in San Diego or near San Diego, that likes a project please let me know. I would love to surprise my dad and get this back on the road.
Also since I am starting from scratch any suggestions for modifications would be helpful
Thanks in advance.
dstudeba
I will be interested in the responses you get. I haven't taken one of my Porsches to a shop in many years so I can't be much help.

I did have my 944 worked on by Black Forest years ago and they did work I was happy with. Now I would take my 944 to Tim Comeau if I had something I couldn't fix. Unfortunately I don't think he works on 914s but he might have a good reference for you.

My doctor who is a past president of the SD PCA uses Black Forest for his 4-5 Porsches.
Highland
Sounds like you already did the “heavy lifting”. Although not trivial, assembling all the parts yourself is not that difficult.

I long time ago I use to go to European Motorsport in Vista. The owner use to race 914’s; so knowledgeable.
mepstein
welcome.png
Lucky9146
I live in the San Diego area but I do all my own work with exception of alignment below. That said, there are many good shops around and one already mentioned European Motorsport was used by a friend of mine and he had varying results with his 914, 911, and 944. I have no experience with them and have never been there.