Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Six Engine Cover Torsion Bar Paint
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jrrobertson
I am restoring a 1971 six and I hope someone can help me with a question about the paint color on the torsion bars that hold up the engine cover. The ones that came with the car are painted black and this appears to be the original color. However, I have seen some sixes with these torsion bars painted body color. Does anyone have a six with original paint that could verify the paint color?
Click to view attachment Click to view attachment
jrrobertson
Sorry, the picture of the black torsion bar got added twice. I am new at this.
Cairo94507
My '71 Six, which was gold from the factory, had the black torsion rods for the engine lid. That is the way they came. Though it looks like at some point they got a bit of overspray on them, they were black.

Additionally, engine lid torsion bars on a 6 were smaller/thinner than on a 4 as the 4 cars had a rain tray which added weight. The 6 never came with a rain tray so lighter rods were installed so the lid would not fly open and bang the rear of the targa bar.

When we repainted my car we did them in body color. In hindsight, I should have done them in satin black. Maybe I will address that in the future. beerchug.gif

Click to view attachment
jrrobertson
QUOTE(Cairo94507 @ Dec 21 2022, 11:01 AM) *

My '71 Six, which was gold from the factory, had the black torsion rods for the engine lid. That is the way they came. Though it looks like at some point they got a bit of overspray on them, they were black.

Additionally, engine lid torsion bars on a 6 were smaller/thinner than on a 4 as the 4 cars had a rain tray which added weight. The 6 never came with a rain tray so lighter rods were installed so the lid would not fly open and bang the rear of the targa bar.