Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Backyard pond with Aquarium type "window"?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mueller
Okay, I built an in-ground pond a few years ago...guess it's a few hundred gallons...it is surrounded by 2500 pounds of flagstone....after killing all 40+ goldfish last year*, I've let the pond dry up and now it's a trip hazard wacko.gif

Now I'd like to rebuild it with a new and better pump and filter. But instead of keeping it in-gound, I'd like to raise it up and make a viewing window at least a foot or so from the ground level..basicly a one-window aquarium.

Anyone have experiance with making something similar?
Should I plexiglass or tempered glass? What about sealing it to the rest of the pond walls?

*too much tap water into it when I drained it to clean it out some....poor fish unsure.gif
mightyohm
So I'm not an expert on aquariums or anything but... I predict in about 7 days the window will turn green, and in a couple weeks you won't be able to see the faintest amount of light thru it. Sounds like a bad idea. Plus the first time you hit a rock with the mower and shatter the window you'll kill another 40 goldfish. biggrin.gif
redshift
Google..

If you need new koi, I can work something out.

smile.gif

M
john rogers
I had a cousin back on the east coast (deceased now) who built several aquarium "walls" and used 1 inch thick tempered glass since they went to the ceiling. Remember the force of wather is about 1/2 pound per square inch per foot of height so the glass has to be pretty strong. If you are going up a foot or so then 3/8 inch should work okay. To seal it, I'd lay out the surfaces it sits against, seal them with a thin layer of concrete and then use GOOP sealer to glue the glass to it. If it were on a hill such as my back yard then the window could be much higher. This is on my todo list some day when I retire......
Mueller
QUOTE (redshift @ Aug 9 2005, 07:16 PM)
Google..