Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Removing the steering assembly
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Deusexmachina77
I have a 76'.

I am in the process of replacing the struts and have decided to replace the tie-rods as well since the joints are trashed.

I want to pull the steering gear out so I can work on a bench and not under the car. I studied @IanKarr video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MnuYLbZ89y8 but doesn't show it being removed. I can not see a way to remove it without removing a lot of parts of the suspension.

In the Hanes manual, you have to remove the auxiliary carrier.
(Page 103), Section 10, Removing the auxiliary carrier, Step 5.
"Remove the torsion bar adjusting screws then pull off the adjusting levers and seals."

I have no clue what this means and could use some instruction.
confused24.gif

Thank you in advance.
Victor
76-914
They're referring to the torsion bars. beerchug.gif
zoomCat
They’re talking about parts 20, 21, and 22.

Click to view attachment
Deusexmachina77
QUOTE(76-914 @ Jan 28 2023, 11:50 AM) *

They're referring to the torsion bars. beerchug.gif

So, Step one: remove the torsion bar.
Deusexmachina77
QUOTE(zoomCat @ Jan 28 2023, 12:24 PM) *

They’re talking about parts 20, 21, and 22.

Click to view attachment

If I remove 20, 21 & 22 will that be it? Or do I need to remove other nuts and bolts?
Does this support then slide toward the rear of the car or just drop on my head?

I'm at my limits of my knowledge.
zoomCat
QUOTE(Deusexmachina77 @ Jan 28 2023, 02:17 PM) *

This may be more informative than the Haynes manual, but unfortunately I haven’t any first hand knowledge of what you’re doing.

http://p914-6info.net/PDFs/Group%204%20Front%20Axle.pdf
rhodyguy