Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Engine drop question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Rrrockhound
Is it safe to take out the engine with the car on a lift or will it (the car) be too front heavy and unstable when the engine is out?
BeatNavy
Can't speak to your specific setup, or how you lift your car, but I remove the engine on mine using my scissor lift all the time. No issues. If you're putting a lot of torque on the front with the engine out, you can run something like a ratchet strap across through the door gaps/sills for insurance, I suppose.
NARP74
Talking about on a two post I assume?
Rrrockhound
QUOTE(NARP74 @ Jan 28 2023, 12:40 PM) *

Talking about on a two post I assume?

Correct. Years ago I did it on jack stands but this is my first time doing it with the lift.
NARP74
If the gas tank is full and the spread on the arms is narrow, you might have an issue if like BeatNavy said you are really torqueing on something. Some will put a post of some kind up front just in case..
ClayPerrine
I have had a 2 post lift for years, and I have NEVER had an issue with pulling an engine on a 914. In fact, it makes it easier. I just unhook everything but the engine mounts, lower it down and set the engine/transmission on jackstands. Then I unbold the motor mounts and lift the car off the engine.

Cairo94507
You could always place a jack under the nose or strap the rear of the car down if you are concerned- never hurts to be extra careful with cars on lifts. beerchug.gif
mepstein
No issue on two post but I still use a deadman (like Cairo suggested) under the front so it’s not tippy. It can be made of 2x4. It’s just there to steady the car, not hold it up. Even a stack of milk crates will work. Just don’t forget it and lower the car or you will have problems.
Rrrockhound
Thanks for the advice, guys. I'm just trying to avoid one of these:

Corvette falls off lift
wonkipop
QUOTE(Rrrockhound @ Jan 28 2023, 03:35 PM) *

Corvette falls off lift