Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Broken bolt flange on heat exchanger
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
DC_neun_vierzehn
During reinstall of a freshly rebuilt motor we discovered one of bolt flanges (also called dog ears?) on the driver's side heat exchange was cracked at the weld. We decided to proceed with installing knowing that I would need to get it addressed soon. Well ... that flange completely broke off when mounting it.

I have no experience welding nor do I own the welding equipment - my question is can that be welded back on good as new ... or do I have to replace the exchanger?

The heat exchanger is in great shape with no signs of rust or leaks anywhere. So it would be great if I can have it welded vs. needing to replace.

Thanks in advance.
Superhawk996
It all depends on how solid the steel really is and the talent of the welder.
emerygt350
I had to do a light weld like that on an old victorian chair wheel caster not long ago. So easy and strong. I have a super cheap 120v Rosin welder from harbor freight (titanium). I also used the same welder on a quarter inch leaf spring hanger and it was more than up to the job. Well worth the 150 dollars

I did weld professionally in a previous life but in my opinion anyone could do the same with that welder.
mgphoto
QUOTE(DC_neun_vierzehn @ Jun 2 2023, 02:58 PM) *

During reinstall of a freshly rebuilt motor we discovered one of bolt flanges (also called dog ears?) on the driver's side heat exchange was cracked at the weld. We decided to proceed with installing knowing that I would need to get it addressed soon. Well ... that flange completely broke off when mounting it.

I have no experience welding nor do I own the welding equipment - my question is can that be welded back on good as new ... or do I have to replace the exchanger?

The heat exchanger is in great shape with no signs of rust or leaks anywhere. So it would be great if I can have it welded vs. needing to replace.