Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Windshield Installer in San Diego Area, North County
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Highland
Does anybody have any recommendations?

Several of the clips popped out while installing the trim. While attempting to remove the glass the windshield cracked. In fact it splintered which makes me wonder how safe this glass is to drive with.

Although the glass is centered, I don't think I'm getting it seated correctly. Using 5/16" butyl tape.

This is my second windshield install. The first one cracked after about 3 years (no impact, just cracked). Obviously I'm doing it wrong despite watching repeated videos. Is there a shop in the San Diego area that does 914 glass installs?

Thanks.
jim_hoyland
Rufino in Orange County is our 914 go-to
Tons of 914 experience, good pricing, comes to you.

(714) 292-5811

Goes by trade name L&R glass
Highland
QUOTE(jim_hoyland @ Jul 27 2023, 01:00 PM) *

(714) 292-5811

Can't find them on the WEB and phone number goes to unannounced voicemail. Do they still exist?
jim_hoyland
QUOTE(Highland @ Jul 27 2023, 04:00 PM) *

QUOTE(jim_hoyland @ Jul 27 2023, 01:00 PM) *

(714) 292-5811

Can't find them on the WEB and phone number goes to unannounced voicemail. Do they still exist?

Yes. Several locals have recently used Rufino
Doubt they have a Web page; small operation
Lucky9146
Ask Oscar at Escondido Custom Upholstery if he'll do it. He has done many 911's and likely 914's.
Good guy, I have used him several times for seats and steering wheels, but he has not done a windshield for me.
driving.gif white914.jpg
euro911
I've had Rufino recommended by a few members here who've had him do their installations. Unfortunately, until I can find a place where I can get the left trailing arm mounting 'ears' on 'HOWARD' put back where they belong, a windshield is the farthest thing from my mind.

Click to view attachment