Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Spot Weld Removal and Sheet Metal Questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Bigdamdork
Hey everyone. I had a couple of hopefully quick questions. I picked up my 74 914 about two weeks ago and she has rust in all the places you would expect her to Although I suspect most of the rust in the hell hole was water related and not battery acid as it's not as bad as I have seen on some other cars.

This being said I've never used a spot weld bit before and never really removed sheet metal like this. I'm pretty handy (I can change a head gasket, and rebuild motorcycle forks) but auto body stuff is relatively new. I figured the trunk pan would be a good place to start. Easy to get to and I can really screw up by drilling too deep and there will be no harm because I'm tossing the pan anyway.

So my question is what is your recommended method of prying up the sheet metal if it's still sticking pretty good. I'm assuming on the one corner where I took a close up I have been prying and prying and can't seem to get it to detach. I want to practice here so when I get the sides I'm not jacking up the fender too bad. I was thinking Air Chisel but is that too aggressive? Also, what is the best way to get rid of spot welds? Just drill them out and be careful not to punch through or is the spot weld removal bit the best way. Just looking for some general advice as I progress. BTW...the bottom is fully drilled out. Pictures were taken at different times.

Last question. I got my spot bit at Harbor Freight and after this many holes I feel like it is walking big time. I'm drilling out a small indentation so it sits better but it feels like it's getting worse. I saw the Eastwood bits at like $65 or something like that. Is this one of those things I should not skimp on? Are the Eastwood bits $60 better?

Thanks!!

Click to view attachment Click to view attachment
brant
Don’t look too bad