Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I need some assistance..
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
CCE
Hello all!
I just noticed a new light turned on in my 74 2.0 dashboard, since I don't think a user manual has been in the car since 1980, I need to ask you guys what the lamp is all about.

I reviewed oil levels, temperatures, and nothing, it was low on oil in the transaxle, but I toped with some 700ml of oil, but the light is still on, motor oil was also a bit low so I added 0.5L, but the light is still very on, brakes are also fine.

I was thinking maybe electric issue, but I rather ask here.

All else should be fine.
Please your advise. I am still learning my car.

The light is not in full brightness, (the picture is a bit brighter than the actual lamp is)

Click to view attachment
Freezin 914
If you are referring to the red “g” light. Generator=battery, electric issues
Rusty
If you have a voltmeter / multimeter, please check your battery voltage with the car running. Post your results here. smile.gif
CCE
QUOTE(Freezin 914 @ Aug 27 2023, 01:53 PM) *

And that is why I was afraid to ask… thanks so much!!!

It will have to get some love then.
windforfun
QUOTE(Rusty @ Aug 27 2023, 01:13 PM) *

If you have a voltmeter / multimeter, please check your battery voltage with the car running. Post your results here. smile.gif

13.4 V is what you want to see.

beer3.gif beer3.gif beer3.gif
CCE
QUOTE(windforfun @ Aug 27 2023, 03:21 PM) *

QUOTE(Rusty @ Aug 27 2023, 01:13 PM) *

13.4 V is what you want to see.

beer3.gif beer3.gif beer3.gif

Thank you so much!

I will get a voltmeter…
SirAndy
QUOTE(Freezin 914 @ Aug 27 2023, 12:53 PM) *

Actually, (G)enerator = Alternator

Something in your charging circuit is not working properly.
idea.gif
Freezin 914
QUOTE(SirAndy @ Aug 27 2023, 07:51 PM) *

QUOTE(Freezin 914 @ Aug 27 2023, 12:53 PM) *

Actually, (G)enerator = Alternator

Something in your charging circuit is not working properly.
idea.gif