Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Doug Arnao Run-off 914-6
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
gms
A couple years ago while knee deep in my house remodeling project this outstanding 914 race car came to auction with no reserve. I thought this might be a perfect chance to build a GT-3 SCCA racer so here I go!

Bring A Trailer Auction

Click to view attachment
gms
Doug had a great history with the car finishing as high as 3rd in 1989

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment
gms
Hari Matsuda bought the car in the 1990s turned it into a roadster and added a radical custom body. He raced the car in PCA for many years.

Click to view attachment
GregAmy
IT'S A TRAP!!! lol

I remember that car from the 90s (I race in New England Region). "026" is Northern New Jersey Region, I can inquire from my buddies if they have any history on it (I'm a tech inspector and steward, too).

Unless you have an affinity for keeping it original, you might look into running it open-top.

Which engine are you going to run? All the six-bangers in GT3 run a 33mm SIR. Weight is all the same, regardless of engine. Might just need to find out which engine works best with the SIR.

Good luck, and keep us posted in The Paddock forum on your progress.
gms
Hari then decided to turn the car into a Boxster with a 3.6L. In 2017 he decided to sell the car and somehow it ended up with Don Ramsay at Air Cooled Classics in Knoxville TN.

Click to view attachment
slivel
The car looks like a full tube frame without any remaining 914 chassis. Where is the fuel cell? That is going to be an interesting project.
gms
QUOTE(GregAmy @ Oct 26 2023, 10:42 AM) *

IT'S A TRAP!!! lol

Aren't they all biggrin.gif

Unless you have an affinity for keeping it original, you might look into running it open-top.

Going to run as roadster