Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Weber carb
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Jimbo409
I bought a 1974 914 1.8 and itt has the fuel injection, have not tried to start the car after sitting for over 20 years. My question is how hard would it be to change over to dual Weber carbs if the fuel injection is no good. I’m new to the car and trying to learn as much as I can. I just bought a Haynes manual so wish me luck
Osnabruck914
If you are familiar with carbs, easy. If not, a little harder. Nevertheless you will need to gut the FI components, install new carb-type intakes, a linkage system of your choice and a low pressure fuel pump at the minimum. You might need to replace the distributor. You will need fuel line and clamps to replumb everything.Then you will have to experiment with different jet settings to satisfy your engine. You will also need a snail synchrometer to check balance. Good luck!

Osnabruck 914
fiacra
You've just stepped into an ongoing debate about the merits of FI vs. carbs. Perhaps I'm biased, but keep the FI system. Once you have it sorted out you'll be happy with it. An original FI car also retains better value. There is a learning curve for the L-Jet system, but there are lots of resources out there, and on this forum, to help out. A well sorted FI system can't be beat. The Bentley manual for the 70-79 Super Beetle has a well written chapter explaining the L-Jet system very clearly. I found that to be the most helpful when I first took on refurbishing the FI on my 79 Super Beetle. The systems are nearly identical, and many of the parts are interchangeable, and I found everything I needed here and on ebay. The L-Jet FI is much more reliable than the Weber carbs I had on my previous 914. Either way, get it back on the road!
Jimbo409
Thank you
slapshot