Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Engine Stand
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
911997cs2
I am new to 914's. Sorry for some rudimentary questions.

Is there a between an engine stand for a typ1 1 vs a type 4.

If so, can some recommend one. Pulling engine our after Thanksgiving and want to line all my ducks in line before proceeding.

Fortunately, I do have a lift which I will use to lift and drop the motor.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. beerchug.gif
Nogoodwithusernames
Same mounting pattern so if you have a T1 stand you can use it. Might be worth welding some reinforcement as the fully built T4 is a bit heavier than T1.
mepstein
welcome.png
majkos1
biggrin.gif

thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
burton73
Ask Google a question like. engine stand 914world

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...367565&st=0

Best and welcome to the world

welcome.png
930cabman
welcome.png

Yes, as others have mentioned the bolt pattern is the same.

Is your lift a scissors or two post or ?
vintagethunder
Unfortunately, the guy at TheSamba who made great and very reasonable engine yokes is no longer. making them.

The internet is full of advice- this product is utter crap, don't waste your money, while others say the same thing works great. I got this yoke from LJ Aircooled engines a few months ago for $62.48, delivered in five days. It is super well built and very sturdy. I did have to buy a large carbide bit for $18 to drill holes to match those in the stand so it can be locked in place, should I ever need to.

The engine stand was a little harder to wrangle. Many yokes mention a 2 3/8" pipe size to fit most engine stands. The buzz was the newer Harbor Freight 1 ton stands would accept such a device, but when I went to buy I checked and they were 1 15/16" diameter. So just be aware. I found a used one for $50.

fiacra