Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Max EGT?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
technicalninja
The title is the question.

I know what to look for with water-cooled stuff.

I have no experience with air-cooled stuff yet...

What say you?

Is there a normal range?

A never exceed number?

Anyone ever use 4 thermocouples?

Was there any noticeable difference (#3 is of concern to me)?

Thoughts, tips, any data would be greatly appreciated!
Mikey914
In aircraft it’s around 1450.
Technique is to lean out for max EGT, and go about 75 less.
technicalninja
Is that an air-cooled aircraft?

Seems hot to me, getting close to max water-cooled EGTs.

Maybe cooling power/type has no difference regarding EGT?

Next question is "are aircraft cooling systems superior to a T4?"

I'm betting they are.

That is a fixed throttle engine.

I'm understanding that your numbers are actually cruise numbers that are maintained indefinitely...

Hotter than I would have expected.
GregAmy
What's your goal with installing EGTs?

I'm a pilot (as many on board here are) and the point of EGT in an air-cooled airplane (almost all of them are) is to properly set the mixture, as easily as possible. In your typical General Aviation airplane, the pilot controls the mixture.

You don't have that problem in the 914, so why bother with EGTs? If you're looking for tuning, you're better off using established guidelines like AFR and CHT, of which we have a lot of experience, on the dyno.