Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: someone wrote on the dash
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
worn
I was replacing the foam and dash vinyl when I realized that the squiggles on the metal were letters in cursive writing. This is just to the left of the instrument area.
Click to view attachment
It looks to me like someone in the factory signed the car. Was that at all common? When I put the new foam on, I tried to glue around the letters.
930cabman
Must have been Fritz at it again

being a carpenter, I have signed quite a bit of my work over the years
worn
QUOTE(930cabman @ Jan 19 2024, 01:10 PM) *

Must have been Fritz at it again

being a carpenter, I have signed quite a bit of my work over the years

Yeah. I have done pretty extensive work on our house built in 1921. It can be like seeing ghosts when you find writing or long forgotten styles of wallpaper.

Anyone ever found this on a 914 though. My search wasn't very productive.
cholland_
Both my 914 and Scirocco (same factory at the same time) had the paint colour written with the same cursive under the dash.
mate914
When I restored the six there were a few letters under the dash that I couldn’t figure out. Wasn’t sure if it was someone’s initials or what?
Matt
wonkipop
@worn

sure looks like a signed name.
h. elfemheim is what i think it maybe is after looking hard at it.

i have my old left hand drive dash but the foam + vinyl is still intact in that area and i don't really want to peel it all off.

i have the usual crayon production number scrawled in red/brown crayon.
but some additional stuff as well.
there is "rot" written in cursive. meaning red.
its a blue sprayed dash frame that went into my car which is a phoenix red car.

and also the number "65".

different hand writing to that, though it is cursive.
all visible on the underside so obviously instructions for assembly line workers for installation.

no sure why you would sign your name in that location.