Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Ski Resorts
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
johnmhudson111
I was told, not asked mind you, that we were going away for Christmas and since I always wanted to go snow skiing that is what we are going to do. So having NEVER been skiing before any suggestions on resorts, is one area better than another? The only requirement is that it be in the USofA. flag.gif
jasons
Since you are a total beginner, you don't "need" to go to Colorado, Utah, Tahoe. You could opt for one of the smaller east-coast areas like Snowshoe in VA, 7-springs in PA, or go up to New England to Killington or Stowe(which are both big resorts).

The best skiing is out west, but if you are a beginner you won't be able to fully take advantage of that. Plus lift tickets at some of the resorts are mucho $. By the time you get your lift ticket, rent equipment, buy lessons and get raped for food, you will be well over $100 per person per day, just for skiing. It also depends what you like to do.... If you are just 2 adults and you like gambling, Reno is a good option. If you live a very affluent lifestyle, then Aspen is for you. If you have a family with kids then you have different choices.

Since you are a beginner, I wouldn't get to hung up on the quality of the skiing, I would look at the other things you will want to do on your trip. You will probably only be good for a couple of days of skiing before you are too sore and tired of falling.
johnmhudson111
QUOTE (jasons @ Aug 23 2005, 09:31 AM)
Since you are a beginner, I wouldn't get to hung up on the quality of the skiing, I would look at the other things you will want to do on your trip. You will probably only be good for a couple of days of skiing before you are too sore and tired of falling.