Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Crazy AC Idea?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
GeorgeRud
I'm not an engineer or a HVAC expert, but I did see a 914 on EBay that someone had placed a window AC unit in the front trunk. Very cobbled up, but it got me thinking. With all the 914-6 conversions out there, has anyone ever considered using a small home window unit compressor along with other VPC components to do an AC system for a 914-6. I need all the room possible in the interior of the 914-6, so cutting the firewall is not an option, but AC would be nice in the summer in the Midwest.

Any engineering or experimental types out there with ideas?
bondo
Home AC compressors have the motor and compressor in one sealed unit, so there would be no easy way to run it from a DC motor. So you'd have to run an inverter, and it would have to be a pretty good one as AC motors don't like artificial sine waves. Home AC compressors also use a different refrigerant (which I've been told is less efficient or something) and my not be compatible with automotive refrigerants.

So for the same cooling, you will have to make up for the engergy conversion inefficiencies (Belt to alternator to inverter to electric motor to compressor, instead of just belt to compressor) and perhaps a refrigerant inefficiency as well.

It may be do-able, but there must be a better way.
bd1308
apparently he had the alternator rewired to allow for some crazy value like 180amp or something....i was floored.
Mr.C
I thought it was interesting so I saved it..............