Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shes running hot
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Skid
I have been driving my 914 for several months now and have only had a few issues. Luckily, i have had you guys here to help me through all of them. The latest issue is that the car seems to get hot much quicker than it used to. I usually go to work in the morning and come home at night without any trouble, but it seems that every time I drive the car during the hot part of the day ( only 80-90 degrees) it will go for about 30 min and then it just dies. Some times it will give me some warning and will lose power but wont completely kill, it starts sputtering and it requires some babying to keep it running long enough to get it off the road. Other times it will just kill with no warning at all and despite my best efforts will not restart. After sitting for about 30 min I am able to start it up again and go on my way. The thing that confuses me so much is that it doesnt die every time it gets hot, and sometimes it is not even what I would consider that hot. Many times, it is only halfway up the temp gauge in the center console. Like I said, this is a new development, I used to be able to drive to work in the middle of the day when it was 100 degrees outside and have no issues but now I find it hard to trust the car. This next Wednesday I am taking the car to a shop that is familiar with 914's and I would like to tell them a few possible solutions or suggestions if any of you know what might be the cause of the problem.
TravisNeff
carbs or FI? If carbs, what do you got and what distributor are you using?
brp914
If l-jet, my guess is vapor lock - need to relocate fuel pump to front trunk, which the factory did in '75.
Skid
It is a stock FI 1.8.
TravisNeff
Could be vapor lock or a weak fuel pump. The only way that I would think how to test that is to have a pressure guage installed in your FI loop and you can check when it happens next.