Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NPC: Circuit breaker keeps popping on pool pump
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
AZ914
Hey all!

I figured this is as good a place to ask as any:

A couple of days ago I noticed the pool pump wasn't running. I checked the main panel and it turns out the circuit breaker popped.

So I figure, maybe it was a freak thing.. had a storm the night before, who knows. So I reset it. All is good. The next day it only runs for part of the day, circuit popped again. So, it starts, runs fine.. then at some point, it will pop..maybe an hour later, maybe the next day.

I know I shouldn't be resetting it because a popped breaker is a sign of a problem.

Looks like all the wires in the timer have a good connection, connections in the pump are internal.

Could the circuit breaker actually go bad? (something in the main panel) Any recommendation on how to find the problem?

(Keep in mind that I have a meter but I'm no electrician biggrin.gif )

THX for any tips! beer.gif
MarkV
Hi Jason,

Could be the pump motor is going bad or it could be a bad breaker. You might start w/ the breaker, they are only $10-15. If the breaker still trips then you have a problem w/ the motor. Let me know if it's the motor, I have an account at Western Pool, they repair pool pump motors.
ArtechnikA
find out whose swimsuit got sucked into the filter...
MarkV
To test the motor you need a amp probe. An amp probe will measure how many amps the motor is pulling. If the motor is drawing more amps than the breaker rating it will trip. Does the motor feel hot when it is running?
AZ914
Mark,

Thanks for the tip. Not sure about the heat on the pump.. it was daylight.. sun out.. pump is metal.. you know how it goes here. No AMP probe plus I'm limited on tools.. Just moved in with the fiance and half my crap is in storage.

I can try the breaker swap this weekend as it should be an easy swap.

AA,
I wish it were that easy. laugh.gif
914GT
Hi Jason