Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: way OT: what's a good/cheap bank?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SirAndy
i know some of you guys are cheap, so, i need your advice smile.gif

i'm looking for a bank to get another checking account to run my paypal stuff through.
right now, i'm with wells-fargo and i had quite some trouble with them in the past.
like, tons of fees for all kinds of stuff, lost checks, hold's up to seven biz-days on
deposited checks, i even had a hold on a cash$$$ deposit once!

need to switch and i'm looking for alternatives.
any recommendations?

thanks,
Andy
J P Stein
I've been banking at a locally owed bank for about 25 years. Them effin' conglomerates are......(nothin printable.) Credit unions are gud, I hear.
Mueller
Los Altos Bank.....I don't use them, but I've heard really good things about them.
Britain Smith
I use bank of america and I have never been charged a fee for anything. All online stuff is free also...

-Britain
redshift
I hate Bank of America, use them though, I hate everyone else more.

M
VegasRacer
I alway felt the same way about all banks untill I switched to a credit union several years ago. They are still not perfect, but far better than any bank I have ever delt with.

You usually have to be a member of some special group to get an account. But most are open to all relatives of anybody who has an account. If you ask at a few places I am sure you can find one that will take your money.
rhodyguy
andy, if Washington Mutual does business in cal check them out.

kevin
kdfoust
QUOTE(rhodyguy @ Aug 4 2003, 04:57 AM)
andy, if Washington Mutual does business in cal check them out.

kevin

Second that one. If you're not going to a local credit union or the like I've heard nothing but good about Wash Mutual. Our next account will be there.

Currently at BofA, service is variable at best, can't really recommend them.

Good luck,
Kevin
seanery
Washington Mutual was THE BEST bank in SoCal.