Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I'm so confused
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Hammy
I'm going screwy.gif wacko.gif
Alright, so say I were to get a Raby 2056 kit, and put 40 or 44mm Webers on it...

So then, what do I do about exhaust? I'm new to all this, so I don't understand the different types of exhaust. Headers? heat exchangers? confused24.gif
So What would work well for a 2056? I need something inexpensive

And for the heads. It says it comes with "Complete Super Stock remanufactured heads. 42x 36 valves oval exhaust ports, 96mm bore" , with the option to upgrade the heads to PORTED heads. Ok, so what's ported? confused24.gif

And for the ignition. I don't know where to even start on this. I assume whatever ignition setup I have now isn't going to work.

TIA. I'm trying to learn.

LvSteveH
I would think weber 40's and SSI heat exchangers would work very well with Jake's setup and give you a very livable setup on the street that allows you to keep your heat. Upgrading the distributor to the mallory would probably be worth while considering the cost of the engine.

I'm sure others will chime in with other opinions and advice. It really isn't that much more expensive to step up to the 2270 and 44 webers, and you'll have a serious motor that others will envy.
qa1142
Order the motor, talk with Jake, get your carbs and Distributor from him too. He'll get you hooked up. Price is good when you buy it all together too.

Hammy
Initially I had hoped for a 2270, but with that I'd need a tangerine exhaust setup which is $1000+ . So the kit and just the exhaust would already have me well over 5k ph34r.gif We're trying to keep it around 4.

Ok, so SSI heat exchangers. Whats SSI stand for? price range.. ? whats the diff. between HE's and headers? blink.gif
LvSteveH
SSI's are a factory style stainless steel heat exchanger, they typically run from $150-300 per set.