Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Center console....
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Chromatech
Being a newb I didn't pay close attention (prior to purchase)when I was going over my newly acquired '73. Anyhow what I thought was part of the appearance group turned out to be a 25+ year old aftermarket console. Anybody know anything about these? confused24.gif

Todd

Aaron Cox
AMCO
tat2dphreak
can't remember the name of the company(want to say it starts with an "A" though(dunno why)

but they were made in the 70s as an aftermarket for car without... I think they are quite rare in good shape now... and should fetch enough on ebay(I'd think) to get you a stock-like replacement... if that's what you wanted... I think they are pretty cool myself.
Aaron Cox
there is also an upper half that holds 3 gauges in a horizontal layout....

somone has pics...

and again... AMCO console
Chromatech
Thanks for the info guys! Knowledgable and speedy...gotta love this group. I probably will sell it and pick up a factory one later on.

Cheers beerchug.gif

Todd
tdgray
I think, and I may be wrong, the manufacturer is AMPCO.

This is the same outfit that made tons of aftermarket stuff for my MGA and MGB's.

Nifty little find there dude.

Dave_Darling
Check Jeff Bowlsby's 914 Collectibles site; he has a listing of accessories. I believe this console is on there.

http://members.rennlist.com/914_collectibl...Accessories.htm

--DD
SirAndy
QUOTE (Chromatech @ Sep 29 2005, 05:02 PM)
Anybody know anything about these?

yepp, AMCO ...

you're missing the upper part with the gauges ...

user posted image

wink.gif Andy
Flat VW
I have one in the 72' car, I like it, quite comfortable.

I have always wondered what one would use the big black switches (2) for though.... confused24.gif

John
Aaron Cox
QUOTE (Flat VW @ Sep 29 2005, 06:43 PM)
I have one in the 72' car, I like it, quite comfortable.