Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tranny Options.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
guiltless
I am new to the 914 world. I am in the tear down phase of a 1970 and am trying to plan ahead. I really want to do a swap to a Subaru engine and I am a little lost as to which tranny to go with.
The powerplant will most likely be an EJ20t making around 285hp at the crank. I know my stock tranny will take about 300 hp, but I really want to be able to drive this car hard. Here is another variable, if I can get a strong tranny I may go with the STI EJ25t.

So what do you guys think is the way to go, or at least some ways I could go?

Stay with the 901?
Swap to a 915? (An option, but how much does this cost?)
Is there a conversion that eliminates the AWD from the Subie tranny?

Anything else that y'all would recommend?

Thanx a bunch
-Chris
MecGen
Hi Chris

Welcome aboard smilie_pokal.gif

The 901 is a good trans, for up too 300 hp. Of course a 915 is a better trans .....but it will cost you!.

As for other types of trannies, getting them to mount up to the motor, is not a problem, its the rest of the swap that needs to be addressed, axle position, shifter linkage, etc.....Neo is working on Boxer trans swap, I am leaning to a Audi trans. I will try to find my links and flip them your way.

See Ya
Later

Andyrew
From what I've seen, 915 trani's cost 3-5k done. 930's cost 5-8k done, and the rest have remain to be seen....

BTW...

Go with a 901. Unless you have 5k bucks to spend on a trani, then stick with the 901 for about a year, and upgrade when you feel like you need it.

Im was running around 350 tq on my trani about a month ago, I just changed the timing so I have more hp, around 300. Thats running on my v8, and I dont drive it soft.

Andrew
Aaron Cox
welcome! from another SoCal'r

BTW - andyrew pretty much nailed it in his post....

some people are trying an AUDI or BOXSTER/S trans.... we will see how it works
Brad Roberts