Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Autocross "street" tires
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
billd
Any opinions on this board on the best autocross street tire (DOT tire, treadwear > 100)? The SCCA guys I talk to swear by these new Falkons but I have no experience with them. I personally have had good experience with S-03s and with the BFG TA/KD. Has anyone on the board tried the Falkons?
DanT
Bill,

Looking for that over 100wr street tire for next years rules? I have heard good things about the falkens.

I am looking at minimizing my overall points by only making mods that are actually going to help the cars cornering performance. increased HP is not going to happen with the 4 banger.
Lower points means competing against less powerfull cars. don't want to run into any turbos in my class. wacko.gif
billd
Dan,

You've got it. I'll probably keep my 2.0L at 300 points and run in AX16 next year. I was planning to make it a Bi or Bp car, but now once I do springs and sway bars I bump up 2 or 3 classes. Not to mention the stickies are 3 classes by themselves, so a Bp car would probably wind up in AX8.
hmeeder
I've been running the Falkens for the past 2+ years and tried several others (Bridgestone, Yokos, Dunlop and others.) For wear, the falkens are far superior, they stick like crazy and dollar for dollar, the best tire for Autocrossing. Caution: do not drive these things in the rain, you'll wet yourself. Horrible bad weather tires.
Trekkor
Falken's are a really nice choice smilie_pokal.gif

KT
DanT
Actually not quite that High. Ken Holladay and Jeff Williams are in TT11.
Right now the way I plan on building my car I should end up in TT13.
944 turbos and lots of 911s, and stock Boxsters. I could kick but on any 2.0L BP 914 on the big track using just street tires on the Box. That seems fair?!
oh well, its supposed to be fun right.

wink.gif
Dave_Darling