Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Introduce myself-and some questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
scottz0369
Howdy!
I'm new to the 914 world--this seems like a great forum, so I'd thought I'd introduce myself.
My father-in-law just gave us (my wife and I-but my wife isn't nearly as thrilled as I am!) his 914.
It's a 72 1.7. He bought it new in 72 in Long Beach, CA The good stuff is that it's been garaged for the past 33 years here in northern CA (Los Gatos). It's 99% bone-stock and in great shape--the only rust I can find is surface stuff, and the interior looks brand-new. It has 77k on the clock.
The only change ever done to the car was a few years ago--the FI had a small fire so he scrapped the FI system and had it set up with dual Webers (40's if I'm reading the engraving at the base of the carbs right) by a racer-shop up here. Looking at the engine compartment, I can't tell there was a fire there. He was lucky.

Some short-term questions-
I'm getting ready to move to 29 Palms, CA. Anything special I should know about driving this in the high-desert?

It could use tires (it's on its second set ever)-can I stuff 195's on the stock steel wheels without much drama?

It has the stock radio. Will a standard DIN go in easily, or will I have to modify the dash to make it fit?

Longer term questions-
Long term this is my daily driver and I plan on making this my daughters car (she's 8 now). Between now and then I want to set it up for AX and keep it street-legal. I'm planning on getting her into AX (I used to be with my GTI in the '80s--what fun!).
If y'all had to set up a 914 like this for AX and keep it street legal/daily driver, what mods would you make? I'm going to make a wish list, hang it up in the garage, and for the next 8 years, she and I will build "her" car.

Any input appreciated!

Scott in CA
GySgt USMC
Grimstead
Welcome aboard! clap.gif
Before we answer any questions.....Let's see some pictures! biggrin.gif