Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How screw'd am I?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jrcui
Another complete newbie, mechanical idiot question.... I think my tranny is leaking fluid. There's fluid seeping out of the seam along the bell housing. I don't think its oil because the fluid seems thicker than motor oil and there is no leaking around the sump or oil filter.

I don't have the tools or know how so I've been getting my car worked on by Motor Sports International in Portland. I have a feeling that it's going to cost me a bunch. Will I have to drop the motor to work on the tranny?

Lastly, being told that my alternator may not be fully charging so that's going to add to the cost.....

Other than that, I love my car!!!

Mahalos,
Vince
confused24.gif
Dead Air
I don't think you have to drop the motor.
DNHunt
First find out if it is Tranny lubricant or engine oil. Tranny fluid smells bad. It's hard to describe but, once you smell it you'll remember it. So if you aren't sure have someone else smell it or smell someone else's.

If it's tranny fluid it's the imput shaft seal on the transmission. This doesn't require dropping the engine but, youneed to drop the tranny.

If it's oil it's almost surely the crankshaft main seal and I can't imagine removing the flywheel and retorquing without dropping the engine.

With both check the clutch and associated hardware cause it's a good time to replace it and oil will ruin the disc.

Both require significant tools and time. either find a real good friend to help you and supply real good beer or let the shop do it and have $$ ready.

Sorry for your misfortune.

Dave
Rough_Rider
Should be pretty straightforward to check the tightness of all the bolts on the trans. If it is coming from the bellhouseing direct then new seals are in order. Either engine main shaft Or input shaft seal.

Neither are expensive parts, but labour is a killer.