Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Engine SOUND from a SIX?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Kerrys914
I have a 2.2 that I recently did a top-end on. As you know I am new to the SIX's and am not familiar with their NORMAL sounds.

When I rev slowly the engine everything is fine but when I rev the engine fast and let off the throttle I can hear a tap/rap coming from the timing chain housing on the (123) side. when I put my hand on the housing I can also feel what sounds like the chain hitting the housing. It's not a very loud sound but it is there. Since I am now hyper sensitive to any sound I noticed it

I found a sound file of a car with a failed timing chain tensioner and mine sounds nothing like that. It only happens coming off throttle

If anyone is near West Chester or Philly and wants to help and hear my engine please e-mail me. Kerrys914@yahoo.com.

Cheers
Root_Werks
Do you have the oil feds in there? If so, do you have the restrictors in the oil lines?
Kerrys914
No, I have the older style with the collars but they are not original. Everything look fine when I had it opened up.

I am not sure if a little tap/rap/tap is normal when coming off full hard throttle. screwy.gif

Cheers
Trekkor
I hope it's nothing serious.

I want to hear that sound file, too. boldblue.gif

KT
Root_Werks
If they are the manual adjusters, I ran into this with a six last year. Instead of adjusting them back to take up the slack, I put in the oil feds.

Your loosing your tensioners. get new ones. ohmy.gif

When you accelerate the slack is mostly taken up. When you decel it comes back. Your chains are hitting things.
Kerrys914
Maybe I'll breakdown and get the Oil feed tensioners. What is the best price for the kit?

$500+ at PParts
goose2
Kerry, try EBS, (800) 462-3774.....I heard they had the best price. Let us know what you find out.
Kerrys914
Will do