Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Securing rocker panels, rivet or screw?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tobra
Getting things together and was wondering a few things. The rockers are secured with rivets. When y'all have taken them off for painting, have you used screws or rivets to put them back on.

Mid-america has the rivets. I have no experience with pop rivets, do you need a special tool to use them? Once I put them back on, it is ulikely I will ever remove them again, so it does not matter that I would have to redo the rivets to get them off.
Allan
I don't have either one. Mine are just held on by the bottom and fender well screws. They stay on well and are easy to remove for cleaning...
double-a
i reinstalled mine with stainless screws and washers.

~a
John
I use rivet nuts. This way they stay in place (with machine screws) and don't rattle.

I made my rocker panels from steel as the fiberglass ones are so weak.
Mueller
a rivet gun is dirt cheap, you need to know the diameter of the hole and the grip length for the rivet (how thick is 2 pieces of metal sandwhiched together, just measure the rocker panel X2)

Most hardware places only sell steel or aluminum so they'll be the wrong color (OEM is black plastic), unless it's a show car, no Sin in my book to use aluminum rivets in that application
type47
rivets from the local hardware store. you might be able to find stainless steel ones. unless you're a CW, (no offense intended), use common (cheap) ones that you don't care if at some time you drill them out to remove the rocker.

PS, everyone needs to know how to use a rivet gun in case they need to rivet their battery tray to the mount wink.gif
North Bay 914
Bring it down, I have the tool you will need and stainless rivets...I am off on Sunday.

Martin
Tobra