Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Motor Rebuild Alternatives?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
vesnyder
I am in the process of restoring a '73 1.7 that is getting close cosmetically but mechanically still has a long way to go, but would like some opinions on what I should do about my motor? I current have a 1.7 in the car that is leaking and blowing smoke, but seems to run strong, so I am not in a hurry to do anything but a replacement/rebuild is inevitable. I also have another 1.8 removed from a '74 that has about 90k on it. I plan on primarily using the car for spirited Sun driving with the occasional DE and Auto-x. I am a novice motor guy but would consider trying to rebuild the engine myself, particularly since there is no hurry. What is the price difference between rebuilding myself and having a pro do it? If I were to do it myself I would need a complete recipe! Looked at the rebuild kits provided by RAT but after I add all the options am I better off having them do it complete? Keep in mind this project is on a budget and a RAT engine, although ideal, may be some years away? What do you recommend?
r_towle
Get a kit from Jake at RAT.

The kit has all the odd details worked out for you...it takes out alot of the risk.

Plus...if your nice...Jake might give you phone support to go with it.

You could price it out elsewhere...but then you have alot of precise detailed measuring and clearance work to ensure you have the correct parts.

Some of the stuff (according to Jake) that is on the market is not the right size etc...poor machining etc...

Jake is a perfectionist and he makes sure that all of the stuff in your kit has been inspected, measured etc....This is not really done by others that I have heard of.

So,,,I would say get a kit from Jake. The other option is get good at swaping motors and keep putting in used ones...they seem to last several years before its time to get another one..and its much cheaper...