Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Oil Tank
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rcarpen22
Hey I need a little help. My car has been leaking oil from the left side just in front of the back wheel. I pulled the rocker panel off and traced the oil up and it looks to be coming from the oil tank, which is mounted in the fender. The tank looks pretty solid so I don't think there are any holes in it. Where are these prone to leaking? I'm just looking for a place to start looking. Also, how do you remove the tank? I see the oil filter screws into it from the engine bay and there are several lines running to it but I can't see how it's mounted. Sorry if these are stupid questions but I'm new to the 914/air cooled world. PS, it's a 3.2 from an '89 but I think the oil tank is stock 914.
Thanks
Trekkor
Check the fittings that are coming and going from the tank.

The line that goes to the engine is right in front of the wheel. It's a short line that goes over to the motor.

The other line comes into the tank under the oil filter.

I would first clean up the fittings with brake cleaner and rags.
Run the motor up to temp and watch.

Make sure the oil filter is tight, too.

KT
Trekkor
Removing the tank can be very messy. Lots of oil.

Remove the driver's side wheel.

Lift up and support the rear of the car.

Disconnect the line from the driver's side of the motor and catch the oil into something with a decent capacity.

Remove the other line from under the passenger side of the motor and drain it.

After you are sure the oil is done coming out, remove the oil filter and the oil line from the tank below the filter.
You might want to stuff some rags down in the engine compartment to soak up the oil.

Remove any other hoses from above that vent or make up the filler neck.

The two fasteners on the engine side of the fender well are all that are left.

The tank is a tight squeze to get out or in and you may have to get creative to get it out.