Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: -6 Conversion Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
John
I am to a point where I need my oil cooler modified by welding an aluminum AN-16 elbow fitting to the aluminum tube just below the engine mounted oil cooler.

I am looking for suggestions...

Who currently does a good job welding the aluminum fitting on and what kind of pricing?

(If it was steel, I'd do it myself)
Series9
I will do it for free.

I'm a somewhat accomplished TIG welder in aluminum. I have to do this mod on Liz's engine, but have not done it before. The narrow space between the cooler and the fitting on the top presents some welding challenges, but I'm pretty sure I have the knowledge to make the mod.

If you send the cooler and the fitting, it'll be free but there won't be a warranty.

What's to loose?
Aaron Cox
this mod?
user posted image
Brando
QUOTE (Aaron Cox @ Nov 29 2005, 08:51 PM)
this mod?

No, you have to shorten the pipe/tube about half as long as it is, then weld a new AN fitting on there with a brace. This is so stock 91406 oil lines will mount up properly.
Aaron Cox
No, you have to shorten the pipe/tube about half as long as it is, then weld a new AN fitting on there with a brace. This is so stock 91406 oil lines will mount up properly.

no brandoholio....

you make a right angle....here. to clear the inner suspension ear dry.gif
user posted image
John
Yes, this mod is what I am needing to have done.

I will probably want to duplicate the one in the race car (since I know it works well). It is a -16 Aluminum elbow.

Joe, I may take you up on your offer. (I'll take some pics of how I would like the fitting installed)

Thanks.
kdfoust