Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Autocrossing a stock 914 in SCCA
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tony
smilie_flagge24.gif Hey everyone

I was hoping to autocross my 914 in the stock class in SCCA. My question is are stock 914s still keeping up with the new cars or is best to modifly it and race in other classes. Where you can pump up the motor ect. Maybe I can update the car it is a 71 1.7 with a newer 2.0 motor and parts and still race in the stock class.
I am new to this 914 thing.
Thanks
Tony
ArtechnikA
QUOTE(Tony @ Aug 20 2003, 12:08 PM)
I was hoping to autocross my 914 in the stock class in SCCA. My question is are stock 914s still keeping up with the new cars or is best to modifly it and race in other classes.

Thing One is to read the SOLO-II handbook which gives very clear definitions of what is and what is not permitted in the various classes, and what cars are classified in what classes.

by there letter of the rules, you'll probably be running in E-Modified (engine change) since there were no 2,0's in '71. probably, no one will care in the least. you can update and backdate some - the progression is in the rules. (but you can't make a car that never existed - as you've done - by the strict letter of the rules...)

SCCA has always hated Porsches in general, 914's in particular, and it's very, very hard to make one competitive. it's been done - i know there's an F-Prepared 914.6 that's been National Champion several years but i know the drivers are extremely accomplished and the car is flawlessly prepared.