Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 Bodywork
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RangerRhett
I have never done bodywork/paint on a car before.

I have a few dings in my '74LE (very minor) and I am dying to get it looking as good as I can for next summer. Since I have no experince, should I try/not try to learn how to paint/fix dents on my own?

On one hand, I would feel better doing the job myself. On the other hand, I don't want to screw it up worse than it already is... (it isn't that bad)...

A) In your opinion, Should I?
cool.gif How do I learn how to paint stuff?
VaccaRabite
I don't want to hijack the thread, but I had a similar question.

What is the best way to cut body panels (or in my case, a front trunk floor) accuratly so that you can wled in a replacement? I'd imagine that it has to be pretty prescise, how do you go about doing it. Sawzall, sabre saw, angle grinder with cutoff wheel?

Zach
J P Stein
Being an avid DIY guy (and a CSOB) I say go for it....both of youz'. As far as I'm concerned, the only way to learn something is to do it. I do things twice (or more) fairly often when out of my element. Being stuborn helps...drawing the line helps too...."good enuff, damnit".

I painted my car last winter...first auto paint job for me. It looks good from 10 ...OK, 20 feet. When I color sand it & buff, it'll look better.

Tools for pannel replacement....all of your tools + some you prolly don't have. biggrin.gif Cut the hole smaller that your replacement part. Grind slowly on both till it fits. You'll get the hang of it. I have done all the mods on my car....none of which
I had previous specfic experience with. It works.
I got lots of advice....some of which was very good. biggrin.gif
RangerRhett
Hey J P,

My car's body looks okay... But I have some rust spots and dents and some waves in the doors. How did you learn the tricks of the trade (as it were)? A video / A book / a friend ?