Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My lightweight project update:
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
URY914
I'm progressing on getting it ready to paint and one item that I need to finish is the "tonneau cover" over the passenger seat area. I decided to add these two NACA ducts that I have been carrying around with me for 15 years. They are fiberglass and will mold into the cover real easy. I don't know if they will really do anything but they may suck some air down into the engine. I'll tape some 3" hoses to them and stick the discharge end into the cooling fan.

I have to change the cover because I changed the roll bar supports. I used to have a big bar going to the top of the main hoop but that was changed and lowered to the center. This required the cover to be changed. It now can be molded to match the left side radius and I'm adding a 3/8" edge flange for strength. I'm kinda going for the 908-3 look.
URY914
Pic 2
URY914
Pic 3
URY914
Pic 4
URY914
Here is the 908-3 look I'm sorta going for. Well my car is not a center seat, and it doen't have a flat-8 3.0 and it doesn't cost 1 million $$ but you get the idea.biggrin.gif

URY914
If you look close in the above pics you'll see my fiberglass targa bar. I just popped it off the form and it is real rough still. Here are some better shots of it.
URY914
I need to add some on the rear edge and turn it down. It will have to be removable so I can't mold it into the side panels.

URY914
For the targa bar I used three layers of foam board and slide it into the stock chrome trim piece that is on the back side of the targa bar. The foam board conformed to the shape trim piece and than I covered it with a few layers of f/g mat and let it bake in the sun. After it curred I pulled the trim off and pulled it off the foam board. Perfect shape!! biggrin.gif

Here is an end shot showing the chrome trim with the foam board.
JmuRiz