Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Autodesk questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
r_towle
In a short bullet.

Please give me a brief description of

3D Max and Inventor Proffesional.

Thinking of HS kids, is this something that could be learned, and used to design a robot within two to three weeks.

BTW, None of the Adults know how to use it either...so we would all be learning together...

Rich
montoya 73 2.0
I use Inventor series 10 everyday for work. Great program! If your learning from scratch, (no CAD experience 2D or 3D at all) I don't think you can in just 3 weeks. I have been using CAD for 5 years now, I was on AutoCAD 2006 when I started using Inventor 3D. I've been on it since the end of August and I'm about 40% - 50% efficient. Hope that helps you.
jd74914
Its possible, not probable. I learned Inventor very basically in 3 days, but I know I couldn't design a robot with it. I've been using solidworks for 6mos or so and I am very good at that now, but as said above I'm still learning and probably have over 50% left to go.

Just out of curiousity, are these FIRST robots?
r_towle
Yup, its FIRST.

I may go for the Inv Pro 10, it seems pretty good.

I can at least teach a few of the kids how to use it.

Rich
montoya 73 2.0
If there into drawing in general, they'll love it. do you have a instructor teaching you?
r_towle
No Instructor...Im one of the mentors...the teacher is the physics teacher...with no CAD experience...

So, I will give it a whirl...we did nothing with it last year...I think its worth trying and showing the kids anyways...

Rich
jd74914
QUOTE (r_towle @ Jan 9 2006, 03:41 PM)
Yup, its FIRST.

Rich

I'm jealous. I always wanted to do FIRST. In middle school I programed for FIRST lego league, but our school is too small for a real FIRST team. Now we only build really accurate catapults and stuff smile.gif