Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tire Thread 101
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
drew365
I'm looking to buy a second set of track tires. I'm using Hoosier R3SO3's and am considering trying the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup Competition Radials. Has anyone tried them on the track? How do they compare to the Hoosier's?
redshift
I heard they give up easy.

M
ChrisReale
http://forums.pelicanparts.com/showthread....ht=michelin+cup

Basically, the consensus on the 911 board is that these cars are not heavy enuff to heat them up. I have no experience with them, and of course, since you have 914-6, could have totally opposite results
seanery
The rennlist racing list had a discussion about these when they came out.

Consensus was, IIRC, pricey but will withstand many, many heat cycles. Very Good performance as well.
most users were 911 & 951 IIRC.
drew365
Thanks for the link Chris. I read enough good things that I might give them a try. Heat is not usually a problem at Willow Springs except for too much of it. I also may try 225/50/16 on the rear instead of my usual 245/45/16's.
ArtechnikA
i'd love to try them but i'm having trouble deciding on a tire size that will fit my wheels (7&8x15)
the search continues ...
campbellcj
I have also been thinking about trying them, maybe on my 15's (if 205/50's are available) when my Kumhos give up the ghost.

Have read the same reports about "similar" (not quite equal) performance to Hoosiers but much, much longer life. Makes the ~$30/tire extra cost seem worthwhile.

Anybody know how their weight compares to the Hoosiers though? That is clearly one reason the Hoosiers work so well. (No steel belts). Kumhos are heavy suckers.

Hey...nobody warned me beforehand that this track driving shit would result in having $3K in wheels/tires piled in the garage. But I guess we have it "easy" compared to the real widebody guys with their 18x12 wheels rubber.
ChrisReale
QUOTE(drew365 @ Aug 28 2003, 07:38 PM)