Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: location carbon canister
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jsf322
The carbon canister in my car does not appear to fit properly. The bracket does not fit inthe groove and the canister doesn't sit straight because it hits the FI control unit. Wher there differnt size canisters or was the bracket supposed to mount somewhere other than to the battery tray as mine is. I am new to these cars so i am not sure about how things should sit. I've attached a pics of how mine sits. How should it mount?
SLITS
As I remember, it was mounted to the rear engine tin or rear bulkhead in about the location it is now.
r_towle
Funny, mine fits perfectly on the shelf in the barn...

biggrin.gif
Rand
laugh.gif I installed mine in the trash can.
ClayPerrine
It moved around a bunch over the years.

73 and older it resided on the top of the fuel tank.

In 74 it was moved to the rear wall of the engine compartment and depending on the build date, on the battery tray.

What you have there is not the factory charcoal canister. It's a VW bus charcoal canister. It has superceded the original one. That's why it doesn't fit correctly.

mcbain77
I don't even have one in my car.
type47fan
Seems to me that your brain is in the wrong place. Let me rephrase that: I think your control unit should mount lower and farther to the right. Isn't it usually attached and hanging from the battery tray and out of sight over the hell hole? That would allow the clamp to be seated in the proper location on the canister and the hose wouldn't be mashed up against the control unit, as it is presently.

Oh, you can help fix your starting problem by attaching the negative cable to your battery biggrin.gif .
ClayPerrine
QUOTE (type47fan @ Feb 8 2006, 04:37 PM)