Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Car Salesmen
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
johnmhudson111
So I started training for a new job as a car slaesman here in Memphis. Cool part is that it is for the group that owns the local Porsche dealership so I could wind up woking there biggrin.gif .

My question is this, are there any other sales guys here? Are you making good money? I am not worried about being able to sell but, with all the rebates and other stuff it doesn't seem there is much profit in new cars.

I am looking for real answers since the coolness of working for a Porsche dealer won't put food on the table.

Or course if they had a demo program......
vintage914racer
I work at the local Porsche/Audi dealership and for the most part love my job. I have worked there for 9 years in various departments, with my last year and a half in sales. It takes awhile to build up a client base, but if you stick with it and are ambitious you can do quite well. What will you be selling?

One of the most important things in my eyes is not acting like a typical car salesman. The stereotypes are bad enough as it is. Catering to a high line customer is different than others.

Let me know what specific questions you have and I will answer them the best I can.
SGB
I dunno. I always thought it would be interesting to sell cars since I am so obsessive about 'em. All my magazines and forums and speed tv and races and concours and always working on my own cars and other evidence of a compulsive personality disorder....
And even saturns have some pretty clever engineering hidden in there, so it would be refreshing to have a car salesmen with some legitimate understanding of their product.
BUT

I dunno if that matters.

I'll bet selling cars is about playing personalities. Stroking.

Hey maybe you can do both!